The Cathaoirleach's Community Awards 2016

Moycullen Historical Society are Short Listed

Hazel Morrison

Program for The Cathaoirleach's Community Awards 2016
Moycullen Historical Society
Cumann Staire Committee Members Hazel Morrison-Pagett, Walter McDonagh, Tara DeRenzy, Nora King and Tomas O'Cadhain
Moycullen Historical Society
Short List Certificate for Cathaoirleach's Community Awards 2016
Moycullen Heritage

record number of nominations

Moycullen Historical Society were very proud to be shortlisted for a prestigious Cathaoirleach’s Award 2016, a year which saw a record number of nominations (over 140), in particular within the category of “Best Contribution to Heritage”.

This category recognises the efforts that community groups have made to the heritage of their area.

buddy group

Whilst we didn’t win overall, we were very proud to have made the final 5, and were delighted coming home with our framed Shortlist Certificate.  Loosing out was made easier by the fact it was our mentor group within the iCan network who took the category award – heartiest congratulations to our friends at Milltown Heritage Group.

quality volunteers

Many thanks to Cathaoirleach Cllr. Michael Connolly and all the team at Galway County Council for a wonderful evening at the Shearwater Hotel in Ballinasloe.  We were wined and dined and entertained by “The Kings of Connaught” but the honor of the evening was being in the company of so many fantastic volunteers from throughout our county.




This page was added on 01/12/2016.

Comments about this page

  • Well done to Moycullen Historical Society. We are all winners and are moving forward in preserving our Irish Heritage. Happy Christmas!

    By milltown heritage (09/12/2016)

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.